Fell Off the Wagon

Posted: April 23, 2008 in food, lifestyle

After 6 1/2 weeks, I gave in to my cravings for meat.  I’ve fallen off the vegetarian wagon.  It’s been both yummy and scary.  Let me explain.

About 9 days ago, I ate a Wendy’s single.  That night, my stomach cramped up pretty bad for several hours.

About 6 days ago, I ate a McDonald’s double cheeseburger.  That night, my stomach cramped up pretty bad for several hours.

About 4 days ago, I ate an order of 5 Wendy’s nuggets.  That night, my stomach cramped up pretty bad for several hours.

Now, mixed in with these experiences, I’ve had a pork chop, a steak biscuit, and some sausage.  None of those bothered me.  Just the fast food meat.  All three times.  After only 6 weeks of non-meat eating.  I’m not sure what to think about that.  It surprises me that my body adjusted that much after just 6 weeks.  It scares me to think about what’s in the fast food meat that would affect me that way.  It makes me scared to eat fast food meat again, because I’m kinda tired of my stomach cramping.  I wonder if I would instantly puke from eating a Big Mac right now.  Would I keel over from a Double Whopper?  Is it safe to eat Chinese and fill my plate with 14 varieties of flavored chicken?  Does Krystal’s even occupy a place in my future? 

If you’ll excuse me, I think I’m going to curl up in the corner and cry now. 

Comments
  1. Shelley says:

    I think that its just the high fat content of the fast food burgers. Try sticking with leaner meats.

  2. Jason says:

    Yeah, you’re probably right. I’ll work my way back, slowly but surely!

Leave a Reply

