Foreign vs Domestic

Posted: April 28, 2008 in lifestyle, soap box, vehicles

I’m pretty frustrated and ashamed of US Automakers.  For the last few years now, and especially after selling cars for 3 years, I just can’t help it.  I drive each day, seeing the vehicles around me on the road.  When I see American cars, I immediately think, “old looking, boxy, gas guzzler, poor design, low quality”.  And when I see (most) foreign made cars, I think, “smooth lines, better fuel economy, longer lasting, higher quality, more innovative looks, better fit and finish”.  These thoughts are ingrained into my mind.

The top selling car manufacturer’s in the US in 2002:  (1) General Motors, (2) Ford, (3) Toyota, (4) Chrysler/Dodge, (5) Honda, (5) Nissan.  The top selling in the US in 2007:  (1) GM, (2) Toyota, (3) Ford, (4) Chrysler/Dodge, (5) Honda, (6) Nissan.  The top selling brands WORLDWIDE in 2007:  (1 tie) GM & Toyota, (2) Ford, (3) Volkswagon, (4) Honda, (5) Peugot/Citroen, (6) Nissan.  Now, there’s a good US presence there, I see that.  But it’s not the whole story.  Toyota, Honda, Nissan, and VW are pretty consistently earning significant marketable profits each year from their sales.  GM, Ford, and Chrysler are consistently losing money, cutting costs, increasing rebates and incentives, shutting down plants, and buying out employees. 

Personally, we own a 2007 Honda and a 2002 Mazda, both foreign makes.  In fact, in the last 13 years, I’ve owned three different Mazda Protege’s, putting a total of roughly 220,000 miles on the three cars combined, and made one repair in 1996 that cost me $300.00.  That’s it.  At this point, I’m pretty much 100% committed to buying Honda, Toyota, or Mazda cars.  I like Nissan okay, but they go a little overboard with some of their designs and interior looks.  If at some point I ever buy a truck, I may consider a Ford or Chevrolet, I’m not sure yet. 

Ultimately, here’s my struggle with this.  What has happened to ingenuity, creativity, and forward thinking in the US?  Why are we so far behind the curve on vehicles and technology?  Why do the newest makes of US cars look 5-10 years older, design-wise, than their foreign designed counterparts?  And honestly, I think it has little to do with the US workforce building the cars.  The majority of “foreign made” cars sold in the US are actually 100% assembled in the US.  A lot of the parts may be made overseas, but those suckers are built here.  By the same workforce available to US carmakers. 

I’m a fan of cars.  Always have been.  If I could, I’d probably trade for a different vehicle every year, just because I like so many styles and makes.  I just would like to see the US step back up to the plate.  Design some forward thinking vehicles.  Make them more fuel efficient.  Make them with better quality.  Please make them actually look better.  Until then, it’s nothin’ but Japanese ridin’ for me.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    meguta
    loon prare

  2. Anonymous says:

    what a car

  3. Birdman Jr says:

    Wow This Car Is Gorgeous,I Love This Car And A Gonna Buy This Damn Car,Lol

  4. Acidman says:

    No Size Corolla,You Are Too Much…

Leave a Reply

