My Memorial Day Weekend

Posted: May 21, 2008 in work

Tomorrow morning, I’ll be driving a large van full of apparel, headwear, promotional merchandise, and display equipment about 5 hours, with 2 other co-workers, to this location:

We’ll be staying in a 2 bedroom cottage at Callway Gardens Resort in Pine Mountain, GA.  And we’ll be working all day Friday, Saturday, and Sunday at a boating event on the adjacent Mountain Creek Lake.  Dozens of professional skiers and wakeboarders from around the nation will converge for 3 days of competition, hosted by Nautique Boats.  We run their retail merchandise website, www.nautiquegear.com.  My job at Threds is basically to oversee the technical and product development of roughly a dozen of these types of merchandise sites.  We’ll be setting up a sales area on the beach of the lake, where we will display approximately 75 – 80 different products (tees, hats, polos, accessories, etc) and try to sell as much as humanly possible.  Am I excited to be working my entire Memorial Day weekend at a grueling sales event?  Not particularly.  But I don’t have much choice, so I hope it will be fun.  With any luck, we’ll have a chance to watch some of the competitions.  Also, if I have the chance, I look forward to getting a few good BVD photo ops while we’re there.  I’m not sure if I’ll be able to blog while we’re there, so I may be dark for a few days.  Wish me luck – and please enjoy your extended weekends off.  I’ll be thinking of you…often.

Comments
  1. Thanks for the post..
    Thanks for sharing your experience with us.I hope you have enjoyed your weekend.
    We are also a e-commerce website. We have a wide selection of boating apparel right on our site and whether you want a T-shirt that screams “Your boat sucks!” or one that directs, “Drink like a fish,” you can find all type of boating apparel there. We best exemplifies the true spirit and humor of boating. Since we know boaters and their preferences we also know their T-shirt choices. Check out our selection today! Visit us at https://www.4thesea.com

Leave a Reply

