BVD Tour – The B-Side Pics

Posted: June 5, 2008 in BVD Tour, my experiences

Here are 4 BVD Tour photos that, for whatever reason, just didn’t make it into the official tour stop posts. 

Clockwise, starting from the top left:  standing inside of Payless Shoe Source in the Target/Kroger shopping center on Clinton Highway in Powell (Christine, an employee, took the photo) ….. me and Eli at Morton’s Overlook in the Smoky Mountains, elevation approximately 4800 feet (doesn’t it look like if we fell backwards off the wall we’d plunge about 1000 feet to our imminent death?) ….. standing in front of Borders (my favorite lunchtime getaway) in the Turkey Creek shopping center (self photo) …..  me, Eli, and Erin just off the parking area at Clingman’s Dome, elevation 6643 feet (a nice lady name Renee took the photo).

Roughly once a week I’ve been going to Borders and reading a chapter of Tim Keller’s “The Reason for God”.  I’ve been doing this for about two months.  I mark my place in the book with the outside cover of the hardback flap.  After two months, no one has purchased the particular copy I’ve been reading.  I go in, find the book among the 6 or 7 that are there, open up to my flapped bookmark, and read the next chapter. 

In college, I had a genius professor who could SPEED read.  Seriously.  He told us stories of how he would go into bookstores, see an interesting book, read it from cover to cover while standing in the aisle, and then feel guilty about it and go purchase it anyway.  He spoke about 12 languages fluently, including 2 or 3 that read from right to left instead of left to right.  So, when he reads, he actually reads SIX lines to the right, then SIX lines to the left.  So, basically, in the time it takes you and me to read one or two lines, he would read one full page.  With full comprehension and memory.  Amazing.  It was Dr. Jim Girdwood.  You can actually see him by clicking here.  You’ll also see 3 other professors that helped educate me during my tenure at KCU, Drs Ford, Fiensy, and Knight.  Is there anything else I can ramble on about?  Hmm.  I guess not.

Comments
  1. Shelley says:

    I like the montage… especially the family involvement.
    While there are places you can read books for free called libraries, they don’t offer the borders atmosphere or free wifi.

  2. Jason says:

    wifi sounds like some cool technology. sort of like ipods or something. if i ever get my own computer i’ll hopefully experience it. but since my only computer usage is at work, i’ll have to depend on land line high speed.

  3. Shelley says:

    I myself am laptopless… I have a ten year old desktop.

  4. Heather Mounce says:

    You have got to love Dr. Girdwood, what an intelligent man! (And the the others as well!) The Drs. Ford were my favorite!!

Leave a comment