Pros & Cons of Summer

Posted: June 9, 2008 in culture, lifestyle, nature / environment

Things I Like About Summer…

  1. Driving with the windows down and listening to slighly more rap/hiphop music than I do during the rest of the year.  For some reason, when the windows are down, I just enjoy a little hip hop….the last couple of weeks it’s been Kanye West, but I’ll pop in some Will Smith, LL Cool J, Eminem, Dr Dre, Fu Schnikens, Run DMC, Beastie Boys, and a couple of others as the summer goes on.
  2. Never going home at night.  We’re bad at this, but it’s fun.  Erin & I never want to just go home from work during summer.  It’s always which park we can take Eli to, where to get something cheap to eat, where to go for a walk, etc.  Anything but home.  This makes laundry a bit of an issue.
  3. Frisbee.  Let me just say this loud and clear….I absolutely love throwing Frisbee.  I always have.  Problem is, I’ve never really known too many people who love it equally.  I can go out into an open area with someone and throw Frisbee for an hour and never get tired of it.  I also love Ultimate Frisbee, but haven’t played it in about 5 years.  Again, just don’t know who/when/where anyone is playing it.
  4. Water play.  This summer we have season passes to Splash Country (a gift from Erin’s family).  We’ve already been there 3 times.  There are at least 7 or 8 areas/parks around town that have the water spouts and fountains that shoot up out of the ground.  Eli really enjoys these, it’s really a blast. 
  5. Less traffic going to work.  I live 23 miles from work.  It normally takes me about 45-50 minutes to leave home, take Eli to daycare, and then drive all the way to work.  In the summer, because of the lack of school/teacher traffic, that morning commute get cut by about 10 minutes.
  6. The U.S. Open, The British Open, and the PGA Championship.  Those are golf tournaments, for those who don’t know.  3 of the 4 major championships in golf take place over a 3 month period of time. 
  7. Church camp….granted, I haven’t attended a week of camp, either as a camper or faculty, in over 8 years.  But church camp is very nostalgic for me.  During the summer, I think back often on my camper days growing up, with very fond memories.  I miss my home camp, Camp Calvary.  I had so many incredible times there.  (Want something fun to do?  Visit the Camp Calvary link, click on “camp photos”, and see if you can find me in any archived photos from the 1985 – 1997 era.  I’ll even give you one to start with…1994, Junior High II.  From 1994 to 1996, I think I’m in 11 different photos.)
  8. Waking up to sunlight.  I’m not an early bird by any means.  But it’s much much easier to wake up at 6:30am in the summer when the light is already coming through the windows.  As opposed to winter, when it’s 7:15am and still almost pitch dark. 

Things I Do NOT Like About Summer…

  1. It’s insufferably hot in the Knoxville area.  The average high temperature from June – August is roughly 88 degrees…and even that seems low, considering how many upper 90’s days there seems to be.  And it’s stinking HUMID.  Frankly, it’s pretty hard to appreciate being outside sometimes when all you can think about is how hot you are, how much you’re sweating, and how much you cannot wait to take a cold shower. 
  2. Too much to do, too little money to spend.  We have all these ideas of things we’d love to do during the summer….weekend trips, zoo, day trips, camping, etc….but all the ideas cost money, and we’re on a very tight budget!
  3. Crappy Air Conditioning.  The townhouse where we live has a hard time staying cool.  We’ve had it worked on 3-4 different times.  Often we’ll set the temperature at 69 degrees while we’re at work, and when we come home it’s 76 degrees inside the place.  And we never seem to be cool enough at night.  We try to be conserative with out temperature setting to save money, so that’s a factor as well.
  4. The lack of a variety of sports to watch.  I like baseball in general, but I do not enjoy watching it.  That leaves golf.  And my wife does NOT like to watch golf, so I catch bits and pieces when I can.  But that’s it.  No football.  No basketball.  The Olympics will be okay, but there are 1000 events going on and they only air about 4 of them, so you have to get lucky to see what you want.  Also, you have to know that we only pay about $12.00 a month for 15 channel cable, so my sports options are limited in that respect too.
  5. Yard work.  Luckily, we don’t really have a yard.  And we don’t have to mow the tiny bit we do have.  But I’ll occasionally be called upon to help with some yard work, mainly for my father in law, and it’s just brutal during the summer.  I’m always glad to help and do something productive, but man, you just sweat and sweat and sweat, the grass sticks to your sweat, you smell terrible….
  6. Getting into my car.  If it’s 95 degrees outside, it’s roughly 114 inside my car.  For the first 2 minutes, it’s hard to breath.  And my little Mazda doesn’t have the most potent AC, so that takes a while as well. 
  7. The lack of rain.  I enjoy rain.  Obviously, like anyone, I don’t enjoy rain if it ruins my plans in some way, but overall I find rain wonderful, refreshing, and just another awesome reminder of God’s wonder.  But I often wish it would rain a bit more during the summer, when you might actually be able to be outside IN the rain, enjoying it, needing it to cool you off, you know? 
  8. BUGS.  I really really do not like bugs.  Of any kind.  Ants, flies, grasshoppers, roaches, spiders, gnats, mosquitos, you name it.  And in the summer, they’re everywhere.  It’s impossible to hide from them. 

Either way, summer is here.  I hope you enjoy yours.  Just watch out for bugs.

Comments
  1. Shelley says:

    I hate BUGS too. Especially BEES!

    Congratulations on the season passes to the water park, sounds like a blast! Esp. with Eli!

    I hope that however you end up spending those summer nights, you have a memorable one filled with joy!

  2. michaelCODY says:

    Spider-crickets…. *shudder*

  3. Jason says:

    bees…spiders…crickets…moths…scorpions…cicadas…drunk people asking for money…really overweight people riding motorcycles…(*shudder*)

Leave a Reply

