My Movie Ratings – Part II

Posted: June 20, 2008 in tv & movies

Be sure to read my personal movie rating scale (in the post right below this one), so you’ll understand where each movie ranks. 

Lions for Lambs.  When you see Tom Cruise, Robert Redford, and Meryl Streep on the cover of a DVD, you immediately have certain expectations, right?  Individually, they are all on top of their game.  Collectively, however, the movie was a little lacking for me.  My Rating:  I Loved Seven.  Did you love Seven?  This Was Okay.  But This Was No Seven.

The Lookout.  Yeah, you’re probably going to have to Google this one to even know what it is.  And I’m too lazy right now to link every single one of these.  Sorry.  But this one is definitely worth seeing.  Joseph Gordon-Levitt (3rd Rock From the Sun) has become a great actor, although he’s mostly in indy-style stuff.  Jeff Daniels is in this one too.  My Rating:  Oh Yeah, You Should See It.  Just Be Sure to Follow It Up With A Few Good Men.

There Will Be Blood.  How can I explain this one?  Wow.  It’s sort of like my heart and soul are filled with Coca Cola.  And this movie is a straw.  And the straw reaches over, penetrates my heart and soul, and drinks up the Coca Cola.  IT DRINKS IT UP!!  My Rating:  It’s Sort of In Between Crash & Shawshank Redemption, With a Dash of Magnolia

Cloverfield.  Great Technical Stuff!  Giant buildings!  Mediocre acting!  Scary monster!  Please, stop shaking the camera, I’m getting sick!  I want to keep watching, but I need some Advil!  Ahh!  Oh, it’s over?  Hmm.  Okay.  My Rating:  If William Wallace From Braveheart Belched, This Movie Would Come Out.

The Other Boleyn Girl.  A true story of intrigue, sibling rivalry, the struggle for power, fancy dresses, sex with the King of England, painful childbirth, shaky plot, Eric Bana, Natalie Portman, Scarlett Johansson, Kristen Scott-Thomas, who’s that guy, why did they get married again, what did that mean, I’m getting lost, help me understand, huh?  My rating:  Ever See The Bridges of Madison County?  Slow, Watchable, Totally Mediocre?  Yep.  It’s About Like That.

Leave a Reply

