Movie Ratings – Part V

Posted: July 9, 2008 in humor, tv & movies

The Savages.  Can you believe that a guy as odd looking as Phillip Seymour Hoffman is such an amazing actor and has played a wide variety of roles in MANY great movies?  He’s great.  Laura Linney is great.  The story is great.  The acting is great.  God is great.  Cocoa Pebbles cereal is great.  My Rating:  Watch the movie.  But do it while eating Cocoa Pebbles and thinking about God.  It will make it even better.

I Am Legend.  You know, I sort of avoided seeing this movie.  Mentally, I sort of put it in the Men-in-Black-Part 2-I-Robot sort of Will Smith going overboard with the whole supernatural alien movie thing.  But then I heard someone say it’s worth watching.  And I’m easily swayed.  That may not be a good thing if I ever visit Vietnam and a native encourages me to try the fried Iguana livers…but in this case, it worked out.  I liked it.  My Rating:  Give it a try.  But watch it late at night, in a dark living room, with surround sound, and a pillow to hold onto

Enchanted.  A curious one for me.  It’s always a little odd when a movie with sort of bad reviews and poor ratings gets an Oscar nomination for Best Actress (Amy Adams).  Do you see it because of the performance, or not see it because of the reviews?  Hmm.  Well, I’m married.  And my wife is a female.  So, yes, we saw Enchanted.  And McDreamy.  And well….  My Rating:  This movie had the possibility of being as good as Elf…but ended up being about as good as Ever After.  Which is to say I wasn’t terribly impressed.

Before the Devil Knows Your Dead.  (Déjà vu spoiler alert)  Can you believe that a guy as odd looking as Phillip Seymour Hoffman is such an amazing actor and has played a wide variety of roles in MANY great movies?  Sorry, but this wasn’t one of them.  This movie had about has much suspense and thrill as my last statement did.  My Rating:  I would have expected Tom Berringer, Eric Roberts, or C. Thomas Howell to star in this movie….but instead it had Phillip Seymour Hoffman and Ethan Hawke.  Shame on them.  And if anyone reading is still familiar with Tom Berringer, Eric Roberts, or C. Thomas Howell, you’ve been watching way too many bad movies.

Wild Hogs.  I haven’t even finished this movie.  We stopped it last night at about 1:15.23, with probably 30 minutes left to go.  It was late.  Had to go to bed.  But saw plenty enough to give you this rating.  My Rating:  It’s bad.

Leave a Reply

