Balls Tee

Posted: July 28, 2008 in church, crossings, humor

About one month ago, during a Crossings series called “My Most Important Questions”, several of the people in our community gave 10-12 minute talks about their own most important question.  Trevor, a good friend, a member of my small group, and a Crossings summer intern, also spoke about his own question.  During his message, he spoke briefly about how a boss that he works for (not his Crossings boss), doesn’t believe that a person can truly be depressed, and would sometimes say to Trevor, “Man up, dude, grow some balls!”. 

Well, Trevor shared that pretty much verbatim from the stage.  After a moment of hushed laughter from the crowd, he realized his choice of words and turned it into a comedic opportunity, saying sometimes he feels guilty about things, for instance, the “fact that I just said the word balls in church.”  It was a moment of riotous laughter from the community. 

The next week, we did an opening called “The Seven Words We Never Say At Crossings.”  Mark led this, and the words included things like “sermon”, “skit”, “ushers”, “foyer”, “membership” …. then, for the last word, Mark gave the microphone to Trevor, who said…”Balls.  Never, ever say balls in chuch.”  Again, riotous laughter ensued. 

So, I decided to use the opportunity to deepen community and rib Trevor just a little bit more.  About 2 weeks ago, I emailed several people at Crossings, especially those who are normally there early every Sunday morning for set up time.  I had an idea for a shirt, and enough people got on board to make it happen.  I produced about 30 t-shirts.  Luckily, Trevor and his fiance Rachel were gone last Sunday, which provided the opportunity to distribute the shrits.  Then, yesterday morning, without Trevor knowing anything about it, about 15-20 people show up for church that morning wearing this shirt….

It was great.  Trevor was a great sport, and he and Rachel both received their own tees for keeps.  What was really great, however, was when a few of us went to lunch at Chili’s after church.  Me, Erin, and Trevor were all wearing our “balls tees” and every one we walked past stared at the shirt.  It kind of felt like being on a mission trip when your entire group is wearing neon yellow shirts.  I think Bill had worn his shirt somewhere early yesterday morning before church and somebody said, “I don’t know who Trevor his, but I agree.” 

I also agree.  But I must say it was one of the funniest moments I’ve ever experienced in church, ever.  It was great to see a geniunely good guy let his guard down, speak openly about his questions, say something a little racy for church, and then handle it so well.  And at least he didn’t say the word “hymnal”. 

Comments
  1. Shelley says:

    I WANT this shirt! How funny is that!?! I don’t even go to Crossings, but hey, its hilarious!

    Perhaps you can sell them as a fund raiser for the church, or testicular cancer or something>?

    Anyhow, I love it. You can also wear this as a golf shirt.

  2. Jason says:

    Yeah, I like it. I’m gonna comment on your blog with my email so you can let me know your size and shipping address…I do have a few extra shirts.

  3. Greg says:

    Can you say “Schwetti ball sack” in church?

  4. Jason says:

    Well, I say it so often anyway, why not say it in church too? Keep it real, ya know?

  5. Shelley says:

    Well Jason, I finally blogged about my experience in the Balls Tee. Come check it out!

Leave a Reply

