Sports Thoughts

Posted: September 8, 2008 in soap box, sports

I didn’t see the Patriots game yesterday.  But it turns out the sound I heard outside our home yesterday wasn’t a jumbo jet flying overhead.  It was the ominous groan of fear eminating from the New England coast. 

I love Peyton Manning.  But it’s hard to admit he’s no Tom Brady.  With aging receivers and a continued mediocre defense, he’ll be hard pressed to put up Peyton-type numbers this year.  I’m thinking the Colts will be lucky to go 9-7. 

Today’s radio programming on the local sports talk station, The Sports Animal 990am:  6:00am – 10:00am, The Doc, Jeff, & Heather Show.  Topics of discussion?  UT sports and SEC football.  10:00am to Noon, The Sports Page.  Topics?  UT sports and SEC football.  Noon – 3:00pm, Sports Talk with Josh and John.  Topics?  UT sports and SEC football.  3:00pm to 7:00pm, Sports Talk with John & Jimmy.  Topics?  Yep, you guessed it.  UT sports and SEC football.  It makes me sick. 

This may sound a little feminine to say, but watching Roger Federer is almost like watching Brian Boitano with a tennis racket.  Graceful, smooth, never seems to be exerting effort, yet nearly flawless. 

Does it really require 162 baseball games during the regular season to figure out who belongs in the playoffs when it only requires 16 in the NFL and 82 in the NBA?  I mean, 162 games in 180 days during the heat of summer?  I like baseball, but if the games are much slower and the season much longer, I might almost rather hibernate than to keep up with it. 

If you ever meet a guy who competes in synchronized swimming, punch him.

If it wasn’t for the money, being an NFL player might suck.  Could you imagine playing a sport, working out, sweating, fighting, training, and spending 10 years of your life working as hard as you can to be the best you can be … in order to have an 8 year career that leaves you beaten up, injured, and in some type of physical pain for the rest of your life?  Hats off to those dudes.

Question of the year:  What way will the Cubs discover to choke away their title hopes?

Will there ever be another Bo Jackson or Deion Sanders?

Watching PGA golf without Tiger Woods is like going to a Cracker Barrell that doesn’t serve sweet tea…like turning on the Olympics and the only coverage is the air rifle prelimary rounds…like going to a baseball game featuring the Royals vs the Marlins…like going to a Passion conference only to find out that Tomlin, Crowder, Redman, and Hall all caught the flue, and you’re stuck with Don Moen for the weekend…like taking a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Indonesia, but not having known ahead of time it was monsoon season.

I like sports.

Comments
  1. bill says:

    great post. here are my thoughts paragraph by paragraph…

    -YES! Screw Boston fans. And I’m glad to see Bill Belechick is still sticking to the ‘tight-lipped’ thing. When the story is “Tom Brady has a knee injury and is out for the season”, what in in the crap do you gain by being tight-lipped?!

    -Something close to Peyton-slandering? Hmmm…ballsy. You do remember where you live, right?

    -I agree. I agree. I agree.

    -A Brian Boitano reference. Obscure. I like it.

    -I agree. I follow a little up until late August…and then I become a real fan.

    -What about synchronized diving?

    -NFL is a hard life…but I DO think the money is worth it. Plus, with the ever increasing and absolutely excessive NFL coverage on every channel, I also believe that within 10 years every ex-NFL player, upon retirement, will be able to instantly get paid to put on a suit and talk about football on camera.

    -Shhh. All of my energy right now is going into NOT asking THAT question.

    -GREAT question. I’ve never thought about that…but yeah, GREAT question. Jeff Samarja could do it.

    -What is more obscure than a Brian Boitano reference? A Don Moen reference. Well played.

    -me too.

  2. Jason says:

    bill, i love the comments…thanks man. i totally forgot sych diving…even watched a little of it during the olympics. it sucks too. just as bad. I kept waiting for the guys to hug each other underwater after a really good dive before they came back up.

    synchronized cannon-ball splashing….that might interest me.

Leave a Reply

