Movie Ratings, Part VII

Posted: September 17, 2008 in tv & movies

Be Kind, Rewind.  Be Kind.  Don’t make me watch another minute of this.  Mos Def sucks, yet continues showing up in movies.  Jack Black sucks, yet continues showing up in movies.  Erin and I muscled our way through this, but we should have rewound it after 20 minutes.  My Rating:  IT’S TERRIBLE!

The Assassination of Jesse James.  For a moment, harken back to movies like The English Patient, Seven Years in Tibet, the Last Emperor, or the final 60 minutes of the last Lord of the Rings movie.  Great movies, worth watching, good to recommend….but really, really, really slow.  And even if you’re a Brad Pitt fan, I think you’ll be surprised at his level of acting in this movie.  My Rating:  this movie is odd, good, quirky, weird, scary, well acted, worth watching, and I recommend it … but it moves at a VERY slow pace.

3:10 to Yuma.  This might be the best movie of the last several months that nobody talks about, has gotten little to no pub, and I had a hard time even remembering that I saw it in order to put it in my movie ratings list.  And it makes no sense.  It’s good.  Really good.  Really really good.  My Rating:  I need to be at work at 8:00am, in bed by 11:00pm, and at church by 7:00am on Sundays…but if I ever need to catch a 3:10 train to Yuma, I definitely want Russell Crowe by my side.

Starship Troopers 3: Marauder.  Who saw the original Starship Troopers, roughly 10 years ago, when Denise Richards was the bomb?  Come on, raise your hands, don’t be shy.  Weren’t those alien spiders crazy scary?  Weren’t Casper Van Dien and Neil Patrick Harris the most awesome three-named guys ever?  For it’s time, it was pretty sweet.  And let me say that Starship Troopers 3 holds the candle proudly.  Action, love, adventure, goriness, it’s got it all.  My Rating:  Are you serious?  Do you think I actually watched Starship Troopers 3?  If you did, then SIKE!

Definitely, Maybe.  I’ll say this.  Ryan Reynolds has come a long way since 2 Guys, a Girl, and Pizza Place and Van Wilder.  This dude can really act.  This movie, in a way, reminded me of Love, Actually.  On the outside, it looks like your normal, stupid, boring romantic comedy.  Then you watch it, and it’s got something different and almost watchable about it.  A new twist, a creative story line, believable characters, whatever.  It just ends up being better than you expected.  My Rating:  Is this movie worth watching?  Maybe, Definitely.

Comments
  1. Jakeck says:

    Love, Actually has my favorite movie scene of ALL time. When he stands outside her door holding the signs declaring his forbidden love for his best friends girl…man, that be good stuff. Love it. It’s one of my favorite movies that no one saw or knows anything about.

  2. Jason says:

    absolutely, agreed…really really good movie. I’m thinking it’s because there are british people in it. They make every movie better.

  3. Shelley says:

    3:10 to Yuma was like the best movie so far for me this year. I will take your advice and stay away from Be Kind and perhaps you might want to avoid “Balls of Fury” because well, it too was a time waster. Absolutely nothing funny about the movie at all.

  4. Michael says:

    Wow… I watched Be Kind, Rewind 3 times in two days. However, you are older… so maybe it is a generation thing.

  5. Michael says:

    Oh yeah, I did get teary-eyed in the end because it was sad/touching. The store had to close but the people finally came together… awwww.

  6. Jason says:

    it was sad at the end….it was also ridiculous that 1000 people were gathered outside watching a homemade film from the BACKside of a projection screen that was being shown from INside the store with basically no sound projection….yet they were all able to hear and understand and enjoy the movie. COME ON!! LET’S BE REAL HERE!! And how in the world did a movie store with no customer base that only charges $1.00 per movie rental do enough business to have ever been open for more than 1 week????

  7. Michael Cody says:

    I’m sorry you couldn’t find the heart and soul in your being to appreciate this tender mobie which was in fact not a real-life event but a film. I’ll keep you in my prayers tonight….

Leave a Reply

