Movie Ratings – Part VIII

Posted: October 2, 2008 in tv & movies

Tropic Thunder.  At some point in my life, I’m going to stop watching Ben Stiller movies.  If it weren’t for a killer preview and the infamous Robert-Downey-Jr-playing-a-dude-pretending-to-be-a-dude-disguised-as-another-dude black man performance, I’d probably have never seen this one.  Except for a few comical moments, it was just another Ben Stiller disappointment.  My Rating:  Whatever happened to the Ben Stiller of Reality Bites, Heavyweights, and Something About Mary?  Was he bad back then or was I just immune because of my young age?  Either way, Ben Stiller is no longer funny.

Where in the World is Osama Bin Laden.  How could I not see this?  I LOVED Morgan Spurlock’s Super Size Me and LOVED what little I got to see of his “30 Days” shows.  However, I’m just not sure what to say about this one.  Sort of good.  Sort of bad.  Sort of funny.  Sort of corny.  Overall, the concept was cool but the production was slightly lacking.  Could have been better.  My Rating:  Ahh, I don’t know.  I feel like I’m recommending cauliflower.  I really don’t care for it too much, but I can see how you might feel differently.  So, give it a shot.

Gone Baby Gone.  Remember back in the day (like 3 years ago) when Casey Affleck was simply that younger dude on the Ocean’s 11 movie series, and you knew who he was but could never remember his name?  Now he’s hit big time roles with The Assassination of Jesse James and Gone Baby Gone?  Well, at least in this movie, he definitely hit it big.  Felt a lot like Mystic River, in terms of feel, pace, drama.  Excellent cast, interesting plot, and some definitely twists and turns that you don’t see coming.  My Rating:  I could think of nothing better to do if you have a Friday evening free and can think of nothing else you want really want to see.  But, and I promise, it will be even better with fresh baked cinnamon rolls.  See Meriam’s Recipe Blog for details.

21.  Wow, where do I start?  First the cast.  A bunch of hacks…and Kevin Spacey.  Second, a personal recommendation to Hollywood.  Can you please, please, please stop making great books into second rate movies?  This is not to say many books weren’t made into great movies….Get Shorty, The Notebook, Misery, The Hunt for Red October, Shawshank Redemption, Silence of the Lambs, and A Time to Kill all come to mind.  But then, on the flip side, you have movies like The DaVinci Code, Dreamcatcher, every other Nicholas Sparks movie SINCE The Notebook, The Stepford Wives…and now, 21.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not against books being made into movies.  In fact, you can go HERE to see a TON of books turned into movies…most of them very good…I just very much dislike when it’s made into a bad movie.  Like 21.  Great book (Bringing Down the House).  Read it.  Loved it.  Bad movie.  My Rating:  Shame on Kevin Spacey for being in this movie.  Shame on him.

Comments
  1. Meriam says:

    Aww, thanks for the nod, man! The men in our small group went to see Tropic Thunder together. It is now a big joke. I don’t know if Ron will ever go see a movie with them again. (He was out of town when they planned to go.)

Leave a Reply

