Speaking of Tattoos

Posted: October 13, 2008 in lifestyle

Speaking of tattoos. 

I’ve considered getting one since I was 17 years old.  I’m now 32 (and a half), and still, no tattoo.  I think there’s a variety of reasons and excuses that have culminated in my being tattoo-less.  Fear of needles, fear of an “epic failure” (see previous post), cost too much, where to have it applied, what would it be, what if I don’t like it, should it be visible to the public, would Kirk Cameron get one if he were in my shoes, and so on. 

Ultimately, I think it’s boiled down to this – I’ve never been able to definitively decide on a tattoo that I am 100% sure I would be willing to display on my body for the rest of my life.  I’ve had a few ideas that I’ve liked okay.  “Rom. 5:8”, which is one of my all-time favorite verses, probably in the standard upper-arm area … a small, almost drawn with an inkpen type cross on the back of my shoulder, to signify “taking up your cross” daily … a butterfly on my lower back, right where my jeans meet my upper buttocks area … a crown of thorns around my arm (until I saw it on about 100 dudes over the last few years) … “IXOYE”, the greek ichthus spelling, either on the wrist, arm, or shoulder … and probably the most elaborate idea I’ve had was to have a picture of the open tomb with the stone rolled to the side to reveal the opening. 

Needless to say, in one way or another, I’ve always sort of chickened out.  And about once a year – and right now for some reason seems to be the time this year – I always revisit the idea.  I think about what, where, will I handle it okay (yep, I REALLY don’t like needles – almost pass out if getting a basic flu shot), will I like it afterward, will I be happy with the decision 5 years from now, blah, blah, blah.  Maybe this year, maybe one day, maybe never.  As has been the case for 16 years, I just can’t decide.

Comments
  1. Shelley says:

    I myself have the same thing. My husband isn’t too keen on tats, so it will probably never happen. I used to want a tatoo of the Orion constellation, yet had no idea how to make that happen. I wanted to see it, but could only think of my shoulder blade as the appropriate place. At one point I wanted something eclectic and celtic looking on my ankle. When my mom passed I wanted the tree stump that is at the bottom of my blog.. still do at times. Have no idea where that would go. I also wanted some verse, but could never decide which. Maybe I would just get “Jesus is for sinners” “and I am the worst” involved around some cross.
    I keep changing my mind, but I can always change my desktop on my computer, so I do that instead.
    Let me know if you ever decide, it would be a cool post.

  2. Jason says:

    i certainly will – i’d say the odds are about 70% that i’ll end up never getting one, unless i hit a true midlife crisis in about 10 years. we’ll see.

  3. Greg says:

    you should get a picture of a butt… on your butt. huh-huh. huh-huh. yeah. yeah.

Leave a Reply

