Music Recommendations? Anyone?

Posted: November 24, 2008 in music

This is something I’ve blogged about before, but I’m revisiting the subject and need some recommendations if you’re able.  I’ve had an ongoing interest over the last year or so to begin listenting to older music (from the early 70’s through the early 90’s mainly) that has stood the test of time, but that I’ve never really heard much of.  Stuff like Bob Dylan, Steely Dan, Lynard Skynard, Fleetwood Mac, Phish, Dave Matthews Band, The Beatles, Pink Floyd, etc. You know, classic stuff that has always been good and remains so to this day.  I’m sure there are many bands/groups that fit this description that I don’t even know or remember the names of.

My problem is, I grew up on rap and popular 80’s music, got into Christian in the 90’s, and that’s about it.  I like a lot of the older, classic stuff when I hear it, but when I visit McKay’s (our incredible used cd/book/movie store in Knoxville), I have no idea what albums are good, I don’t recognize song titles, and it’s a complete shot in the dark if I buy something. 

So, who should I listen to?  What should I consider buying (or trading for)?  About a year ago, I got a generic Bob Dylan hits cd.  Really liked it.  Loved 3-4 songs, didn’t care for 3-4 songs, like the rest okay.  Picked up an old Dave Matthews cd a few months ago…can’t remember the name, but it was from the early 90’s.  Liked it okay, didn’t love it.  About 6 months ago, I bought a best of The Who album, with 20 songs that spanned their career from the mid 60’s to the early 80’s I think.  It was cool to listen to, but out of 20 songs there were probably only 4-5 that I had interest in listening to again.  And then, just a few days ago, I picked up an album from Phish called “The Round Room”, which I think is about 10 years old?  Don’t like it at all.  I mean, not at all. 

Come on people, help me.  I want to listen to some good stuff.  I’m completely uninterested in most new music today….I’m sure there’s smaller, more indie stuff out there I’d like, but I have no way of knowing who or what, since I’m not really invested in the music scene.  I’m open to rock, folk rock, lite rock, bluegrass.  Some stuff I like listenting to …. Nickel Creek, Emmy Lou Harris, Waterdeep, Dylan, Pearl Jam, Genesis.  I’d actually really like to get a Beck album, but need a recommendation on which one would be best to start with.  I enjoy hearing music that you can appreciate the talent of when you hear it.  I’m definitely open to newer stuff as long as it sort of fits the mold.  So help me.  Help me.  Help.  Me.

Comments
  1. Meriam says:

    Well, I have no good advice for music at all. But U2 isn’t on your list. You have to put U2 on your list. All of their albums are good.

  2. Melody says:

    Here are some selected folks to check out, A-Z, courtesy of my iPod: Al Green, America, Aretha Franklin, The Band, The Bee Gees, Bill Withers, Billy Preston, Blue Oyster Cult, Brecker Brothers, Carole King, The Carpenters, Chicago, Cheryl Lynn, The Clash, Colin Hay, Cream, Creedence Clewarwater Revival, Crowded House, The Cure, David Bowie, Deep Purple, Depeche Mode, Derek & the Dominos, Devo, Dire Straits, Doobie Brothers, Duran Duran, The Eagles, Earth Wind & Fire, Fine Young Cannibals, Gin Blossoms, Hall & Oates, Heart, Huey Lewis, Isley Brothers, Jefferson Airplane, Johnny Lang, Journey, Kansas, KC & The Sunshine Band, Kenny Loggins, Kool & The Gang, Led Zeppelin, London Beat, Lovin’ Spoonful, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Mamas & the Papas, Marc Cohen, Marc Broussard, Martin Page, Michael McDonald, Neil Finn, Nick Drake, Otis Redding, Pat Metheny, Paul Simon, Paul Westerberg, Peter Gabriel, Phil Collins, The Police, Santana, Seals & Crofts, Simon & Garfunkel, Spin Doctors, Steve Miller Band, Steve Winwood, Stevie Wonder, Sting, Suzanne Vega, Tears for Fears, Three Dog Night, Toad the Wet Sprocket, Tonic, Tower of Power, Van Halen, Van Morrison, Violent Femmes, Wilco, Yes.

    That should certainly get you started!

    Also, based on what you said you’re into, you should check out the Ditty Bops, Bela Fleck, Chris Thile, and some of Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder is really good too.

  3. Melody says:

    A couple more I thought of…

    There is this new up and coming act out of Nashville called KingBilly. They are alt country/rock but are heavily influenced by bluegrass. And I’m sure you know about Gillian Welch and Dave Rawlings…two more fantastic singer/songwriters.

  4. greg says:

    come to my office on your day off and I’ll loan you a stack of CDs. I’ve got a lot of stuff I think you would really like… or at least you should and if you don’t you’re stupid. 🙂

  5. Michael Cody says:

    I heart your post because I totally can not really get into any of today music. It’s like, other than a few exceptions, after 95, I cut music off from new artists. But, I have to admit, I really dig Jesse McCartney, love Chris Isaak, I mean, thats why I started playing guitar, the new Montell Jordan, not that This is How We Do It crap, ColdPlay at times, Duffy, Ingrid Michaelson, JEFF BUCKLEY, Jimmy Ray, Maxwell, Michelle Branch, Remy Shand, SARA BAREILLES and Stacie Orrico; of which both girls I will marry someday… I just have to get the Church to OK it.

  6. Betsy says:

    any My Morning Jacket until the latest album (evil urges) is good listening. “golden” is my personal favorite song…hence it’s appearance on multiple sunday mixes. have you tried any ryan adams or band of horses?

  7. Jason says:

    Thanks guys! I just got some CD’s from Greg, and already really like the first one I’ve listened to – Mute Math. The lead guy is from an old group called Earthsuit that I loved.

    Michael…if you marry Sara Bareilles or Stacie Orrico, just know that I will likely be flirting with your wife/wives. And I do like Cold Play, but cannot handle listenting to Duffy. Oh, that voice is horrible.

    Betsy/Melody – thanks! Those are some great things to start on. Question – how do you all keep up with what’s new and good, especially when it’s not mainstream and on every radio station? For instance … I’ve never heard of My Morning Jacket. How do you hear about these groups and know they’re good?

  8. Michael says:

    Internet radio.

  9. John Pridemore says:

    One word…Queen.

  10. Emily says:

    Hey Jason! I don’t keep up with music as much…but Chase keeps me informed! he reads music blogs all the time…so he always knows about new albums/artists.
    I think his favorite (don’t quote me on this) is Stereogum.com, but he also likes Metacritic.com (good for movies/music/tv/video games…any media really), pitchforkmedia.com, and saidthegramaphone.com.
    But as far as artists go, right now we are really liking: Grizzly Bear, beirut, Bon Iver, Fleet Foxes, The National, Bill callahan, and…hmm..Chase is on a real Phil Spector kick right now – and I can’t object – i love those old songs! ooo..and always always Randy Newman. He’s so witty…good luck finding some music you like!

    oh! and check out, if you haven’t already, Pandora.com – it calls itself “The Music Genome Project”. I got my mom hooked on that site. You pretty much just pick an artist and then it plays other artists similar to the one you picked. It’s loads of fun!

  11. Jason says:

    yeah, i’d gotten into pandora.com for a little while…but then my workplace put a firm ix-nay on all internet streaming radio. apparently when you have 2 dozen people streaming radio on one network, it tends to SLOooowww down the internet speed. so no more pandora.

    john … queen … seriously?

  12. Greg says:

    scattamoose scattamoose can you do the fandango?

  13. Betsy says:

    emily had great recommendations up there! i find music using some of those sites too, and friends whose taste i trust, and on itunes i find artists that i love (like the ones emily mentioned and MMJ and band of horses, etc) and i look at imixes that other people have made and see what sounds good on there. you’ll start to see repeat bands on a lot of them and it will be second nature. and for the record, i also cannot stand Duffy.

    also, have you heard greg adkins? he’s great, but will make you cry sometimes.

Leave a Reply

