Additional Thoughts On…

Posted: December 11, 2008 in economy, observations / opinions

The Dollar Menu / Value Menu.  In the midst of inflation, deflation, bailouts, foreclosures, and unpredictable gas prices, thank God for the Dollar/Value Menu.  Did you know that Wendy’s started the value menu roughly 20 YEARS ago?  Sort of makes you wonder if the 99 cent chili was actually a value 20 years ago.  Honestly, if it weren’t for the dollar/menu, I might be bankrupt right about now.  To keep up with rising costs, McDonald’s recently changed the $1.00 double cheeseburger to a McDouble…which is a double cheeseburger but with only ONE slice of cheese.  Lucky for me, I always order my double cheeseburgers with NO cheese (not a big fan of cheese on my burgers), so it makes no difference to me.  I’ve never really understood the cost benefit value of paying an additional 30 to 50 cents to have a slice of cheese on a burger.  I wonder what the over/under will be on when all dollar/value menu items will no longer be $1.00, but more like $1.25 or $1.50.  June 2011?  August 2013?  What do you think?

Guilt Ridden Offering Collections.  Man, I’m shaking in anger just typing this sentence.  I absolutely despise offering collections, love offerings, or special offerings that are laced with guilt and shame.  About 10 years ago I went to a mid week revival at a local church (to be unnamed, except to say it’s one of the larger churches in the area, likely well known to most people in Knoxville).  The worship and message were okay, not quite my style, but that’s cool.  When it came time for offering, the basic gist of the offering message went like this:  “Friends, last year at our church, 500 people came to know the Lord for the first time, or redidicated their life to Him.  When you divide that into our yearly giving, that means that for every $3000.00 given, a life was saved.  So let me ask you, how many lives do YOU want to save this year?  Open your pocketbooks, get your pens ready, and decide today how many lives YOU want to save.”  Both I and a few people there with me immediately got up and left.  If I’m ever in a church or service and hear something like that again, I may actually stand up and begin an angry debate right there on the spot.

Cooking at Home.  I like it, it’s fun.  I actually do more of it than Erin does, just because I enjoy getting new recipes and seeing if I can make them come out okay.  Just recently made a batch of corn pudding that was out of this world good.  It’s generally cheaper than eating out (unless you stick to the dollar menu), it’s healthier, and we normally have plenty leftover for another day or two worth of lunches to take to work.  However, there are definitely a few drawbacks.  Ingredients.  I’m just not into buying ingredients for one meal that I know I may never use again.  I hate seeing that 3/4 full container of dill weed in the cabinet that hasn’t been used in 8 months.  Dishes.  Let’s just say that neither Erin nor I are ever very aggressive at tackling the dishes that pile up in the sink.  It’s a point of contention really.  We mentally keep up with who’s put away the dishes and reloaded the dishwasher the most recently, so we can make the other person feel bad enough to do the next load of dishes.  And of course, The Flop.  This is when you spend about $10.00 on stuff to make a new meal, try a new recipe, and it flops.  Either you didn’t make it right, overcooked it, wrongly anticipated it’s flavor, whatever.  The Flop really stinks.  It’s a terrible feeling to spend an hour or more excitedly making a new concoction, only to force feed it down, or to simply throw it away and fall back to the old faithful…a bowl of cereal.

Leave a Reply

