Christmas Thoughts & Memories

Posted: December 23, 2008 in family, holidays, soap box

(in no particular order, fashion, or importance)…

I’m generally not a fan of Christmas cards.  When I was in college, most students were big into doing Christmas cards for all the other students they were friends with.  One day, after getting about 30 cards in my mail box, all with a generic “Merry Christmas, From (Name)” inside, I made a decision.  No longer would I send out Christmas cards – or any other cards for that matter – if I couldn’t take time to make them important, meaningful, and/or at least write a personalized note to the person receiving it.  I’ve pretty much stuck to that.  Last year I created a little “Edelen Family 2007” booklet with pictures and year in review updates of our family, and sent those out at Christmas.  This year, we’ve sent out no cards at all.  Just know this…if you send us a card, and all it says inside is “Love the Jones Family” or “From the Martin’s” or “Merry Christmas…The Smith’s”, that card is appreciated, but it gets thrown away immediately.  Bah, humbug.

I remember one Christmas getting several Nintendo games from Santa.  Being the oldest of four, Santa came to our house for a LONG time.  In fact, since I’m 15 years older than my youngest sibling, Santa still came to our home when I was in college!  Anyways, this one Christmas I got up at approximately 4:30am to go see what was in the living room.  One of the Nintendo games was called “1946”.  It was based on an old World War II bomber plane, and you flew the plane and shot things and completed missions.  By the time my parents got up around 7:30am, I had already beaten the game. 

One Christmas I got a Honda CR-50R dirt bike.  Dirt bikes were the craze in my area, all my friends were getting them.  Problem is, when you break your arm 3 different times in a 2 year span (from 4th – 6th grade), it tends to make you scared of ever being injured again.  I loved that dirt bike….all 6 months and maybe 8 times that I rode it.  I just didn’t have the backbone for it.  And I always felt bad because I remember how much time my dad spent with me looking for the perfect dirt bike.  Sorry dad.  I hope the hammer I’m getting you this year makes up for it.

I LOVE the Christmas spirit.  I’m just not crazy about the way it’s fleshed out.  Credit cards, malls, re-gifting,  overloaded dumpsters filled with wrapping paper, SALES, SALES, SALES, eating tons of food and more dessert than you should have in a year, and feeling guilty when I don’t particpate in the $5.00 gift exchanges at work.  The regular gift exchange, the redneck gift exchange, the white elephant gift exchange.  Before you know it, you’ve spent a car payment or two just so you don’t feel weird being the person who doesn’t buy into buying gifts.  Bah.

I’ve lived in Tennessee for 10 1/2 years.  In that time, there have been approximately 6 occasions where it has snowed enough to either sled on, make snow angels, or honestly keep you from going to work.  Therefore, the odds of a White Christmas in Knoxville compute to 1750:1.  But I’m still dreaming.

Has there ever been a better holiday tv special than Rudolph the Rednosed Reindeer?  It first aired in 1964, and has been telecast every year since.  I’ve watched it every year for as long as I can remember, and always look forward to it again and again.  I have noticed though, as I’ve gotten older, that the Abominable Snowman seemed a LOT scarier when I was younger than he does now.  (Wikipedia just taught me that Rudolph, A Charlie Brown Christmas, Frosty the Snowman, and The Grinch were ALL first aired in the 1960’s.  Amazing.)

Drank egg-nog about 2 weeks ago.  I’m not sure if I’d ever had it before.  It was delicious.

We’re heading to Kentucky on Friday and will stay until Tuesday.  This will be our longest trip to Kentucky to see my family since Eli was born.

I have mixed opinions about using X-Mas as an abbreviation for Christmas.  I do it sometimes, I just sometimes feel weird about it, even though I’m fully aware that X is an abbreviation for the Greek word for Christ.  If anyone ever says it’s wrong to use X-Mas because “You’re taking Christ out of Christmas”, just tell them that God despises lying and being judgemental.  Oh yeah, and Merry Christmas.

Comments
  1. Shelley says:

    I can’t believe you have never had eggnog before! Was it the alcoholic or non-alcoholic? I have never had the alcoholic version, and don’t plan on it.

    I you want a white Christmas, come on up here! We got a couple more inches today, and it looks like its gonna be white in two days still.

    I take the time when I write out Christmas cards to think of the people I am writing to, pray for them and their upcoming year. Meditate on memories, or pray for healing and forgiveness. Its almost something I do more so for me than for them.

    Not many people took part in our Secret Santa this year, and so I don’t feel guilty. I think its just the people who want to look good to others, not the ones who genuinely care. Imagine if I bought them Bibles, soccer balls, mosquito nets and a goat instead of chintzy candles and ornaments!

    Anyhow, hope that the spirit of joy and expectation is great with you and yours this Christmas. Merry merry!

  2. Jason says:

    Non-alcoholic. I just looked at an egg nog carton at the grocery yesterday. 170 calories for an 8 ounce serving!!! Wow.

Leave a Reply

