observations

Posted: January 26, 2009 in economy, observations / opinions, tv & movies

There were somewhere in the neighborhood of 2,000,000 people at the Obama inauguration.  That’s a lot of people.  Astute observation, I know.

Are the San Antonio Spurs EVER going to get to old to compete?  I’m beginning to wonder.  Seems like they’ve been the “older, veteran” team on the block for about 5 years now, yet they continue to win.

Michael C. Hall could possibly be the greatest actor whose name you just don’t recognize.

I’m having a really hard time finding any optimistic reserves regarding the economy.  At my place of employment, we were on 32 hour work weeks in November and December, had a mandatory shutdown from Christmas through New Years, changed to a company-wide 10% pay cut for January, and are now going back to 32 hour work weeks indefinitely.  And I feel like I have to consider myself lucky, because I actually still have a job.  It’s hard to imagine how the 15,000,000 jobless feel.

I’m about halfway through the 4th book in the Twilight series…which, for now, is the last book.  The only other vampire book I’ve ever read – Stephen King’s “Salem’s Lot” – kept me awake at night, scared, watching my windows for floating shadow’s.  Not so much with this one.  Even though I’ve enjoyed it, it’s been less of a scary feeling and more of a Notebook-Return to Me-While You Were Sleeping-Sweet Home Alabama-One Fine Day sort of feeling. 

For the most part, when an athlete says, “It’s not about the money.  Even if I wasn’ t making anything, this is what I would be doing”, it’s crap. 

I have a weird thing for jackets.  At home, in the closet, I have a minimum of  12 different jackets….rain jackets, winter sledding coats, plain zip up hoodies, mid-weight jackets, pullover windshirts.  This is partly because of where I work, but a few of these are over 5 years old and still in good shape.  I can’t explain it, really.  I just like jackets.

Wanna watch some videos of guys having their arms broken while they arm wrestle?  Here’s your chance.

Just recently made hamburger steak at home for the first time ever.  I love hamburger steak.  I cannot understand why I’ve never made this before.  It’s sort of like making miniature versions of meatloaf.  And I love meatloaf. 

Good bye Goody’s.  I’ll miss you.  That one and only time I purchased a couple of sweaters from your store about 10 years ago was a great experience for me.  I loved those sweaters.  Got them for about $6.00 each and wore them for at least 7 years, before they finally wore out. 

Declarative Statement:  If you’re not a fan and active viewer of The Office, I pity you.

Comments
  1. bill says:

    I am also a BIG fan of jackets. My wife mocks me for it. But here in Knoxville, they are so stinking practical. Who needs a winter coat when you can throw a zip-up hoodie under a light jacket in the morning and then loose the hoodie in the afternoon when it warms up? I can count the days that I have not donned this look in the last two months on one hand.

    Also…I’m a fan and active viewer of the Office, but 30 Rock is quickly becoming my favorite comedy.

  2. Derek says:

    I just don’t understand the people who refuse to give up some crappy crime drama to watch The Office. One of my all time favorites. However, since Bill said he is starting to like 30 Rock more, I will say that Arrested Development is one show that I can laugh at again and again. Very few shows have as many laughs in a season as Arrested Development had in a show. It is a shame thatI have to turn on my DVD player to watch it.

  3. Jason says:

    I too love 30 rock. Not quite as much as The Office though. Here’s my experience … with The Office, I laugh more consistently throughout the entire show. One good laugh after another, it hardly stops. But with 30 Rock, even though the laughs are fewer, they are harder. Some of the jokes on 30 Rock don’t work well…but then other are are so funny I miss the next 20 seconds because I can’t stop laughing. You have to be on your toes watching 30 Rock – some of the subtle pop cultural references, both present and past, are easy to miss if you’re not paying attention.

Leave a Reply

