FUN STUFF – JUMPING, BOWLING, SLEDDING!!

Posted: February 4, 2009 in eli, my experiences, nature / environment

This is an exciting post for me…mainly because on Monday of this week, Knoxville received the most snow that I can remember seeing in the last 6-7 years.  So I wanted to share some fun stuffthat Eli (and I) have done lately, highlighted by a couple of incredible snow days.

First, Eli loves to jump from the ottoman to the couch.  Slowly but surely, he pushes the ottoman farther and farther back to test his (and our) limits.  Recently, he had me take a bunch of pictures of him jumping…here’s one of the better ones:

eli-jumping

Next, our family recently went bowling for the very first time.  Our friend Chris joined us, and Eli muscled his way through two complete games.  It’s not easy to roll an 8 pound ball when you can’t hold it with your fingers. 

eli-bowling

Saving the best for last….SNOW.  I’m so pumped we got snow this week.  Last winter, we received not one single snowfall that was enough to break the sled out.  But on Monday, all hell broke loose.  It snowed heavily all morning.  Threds (where I work) actually anounced at 12:30pm that anyone who felt the need to go home for safety reasons was free to go.  Needless to say, I took advantage.  I already had Tuesday off anyway, so it was perfect.  Picked Eli up from school, went home, and proceeded to get in about 3 hours of sledding time over the next day and a half.  On Monday, we used the yard across the street from our townhouse.  Eli kindly rang the doorbell and asked the lady who lives there if we could sled in her yard.  We sledded for about an hour, took a warm up break, waited for mom to get home, then went for another hour.

Then, on Tuesday afternoon, I actually took Eli to a much larger hill at the outskirts of our subdivision for some serious riding.  Unfortunately, I don’t have pictures of this one.  The hill ranges from 20 yards to 50 yards long, depending on where you go down, and also varies in steepness.  The snow was hard packed and icy from the overnight low temps, so it was fast, furious, and quite bumpy.  Some other kids that were there let Eli borrow their much cooler sled, which went faster and farther than ours.  It was great.  Eli typically doesn’t have a large threshold for pain or adventure, but he was unstoppable on this day.  Forwards, backwards, on his rear end or stomach, small and big slopes, it was great.  So many times I would stand on top of the hill laughing as I heard him go down, yelling, “ouch, ouch, that hurt, ahh, watch the fence, woo hoo!”   I just can’t describe how happy I am that it actually snowed and I got to take my son sledding…when we went a couple of years ago, he was still a little timid with it and mainly rode in my lap.  Now he’s loving it completely on his own, more daring than I expected, and is already asking about when we can do it again.  Thanks God for the snow!!

snow-day-11

 

snow-day-31

snow-day-41

snow-day-51

snow-day-25

 

snow-day-7

Comments
  1. Leeann (Gabhart) Sobek says:

    Jason,

    If you’re ever looking for snow, feel free to visit us up here in Montana. We’ve got a great sledding hill right across the street from our house and we’ve got four kids that will be more than happy to go with you.

    Your sister, Kaly, gave me your blog address. Good stuff on here. Writing is a great outlet, don’t you think?

    Leeann

  2. Jason says:

    Holy cow! Loooooooong time, no see Leeann! Montana…four kids…I see what you’ve been doing over the last 15 years! It’s great to hear from you!

  3. Leeann (Gabhart) Sobek says:

    I have been quite busy over the past 15 years. However, I have been doing a little more than having children!!! Send me an email sometime and we’ll catch up! Looks like you’re doing great and I’m lovin’ the blogs!!

Leave a Reply

