No, I really do like doo-rags

Posted: March 4, 2009 in BVD Tour, humor, my experiences, my thoughts, observations / opinions

Seriously.  I have for a long time.  My enjoyment of doo-rags started way back in August of 1990, at the age of 14.  During my first ever missions trip, to Barbados, one of the team members in our group was named Brian.  He was probably 17 or so.  And he wore a doo-rag pretty much every day of the 2 week trip.  I thought it was so cool.  He was a very doo-raggish guy…very laid back, sort of a surfer attitude, easy going.  He had a big mop of hair too, and he wore the doo-rag in the “open” style in the back, where the tail kind of flopped around and his hair flew out of the back…sort of Aunt Jemima style, I would call it.

I’ve never had long enough hair to really make that style work for me, so I’ve always tucked my doo-rags in in the back, so it has a slightly more “skull cap” look, which works for me considering I’m a rap trendster and wanna be gangsta.

I really started my doo-rag craze back in 1994, and sported the look often over the next 3-4 years.  In fact, pictured below are two Camp Calvary photos, the first from 1994 and the second from 1995.  During those two summers I worked as a faculty member at 10 total weeks of camp.  I was always the do-anything guy…lead worship, lead recreation, speak, dorm dad, whatever.  And during all of those camp weeks, I was doo-rag-a-licious.

1994-1995-camp-calvary-pics

Just so you’ll know it’s me…here’s a closer look at these two pics.  Notice also that in both pictures, I’m also sporting fashionable “Christian” t-shirts, which I also was big-time into during that period.  From 1994-1997, I probably owned about 20 different Christian t-shirts.

doo-rag-3

Yes, I understand that – for whatever idiotic reasons – doo-rags are no longer as in style as they once were.  It’s upsetting.  Still, even in my older age, I like to find opportunities to wrap my head in an awesome, comfortable, sexy square of itchy cotton.  Makes me feel younger, cooler, hipper.  In fact, a doo-rag donned my dome back in May of 2008, for one of the first of many Crossings BVD pictures:

bvd-tennis-court-with-guys

In closing, doo-rags are awesome.  You suck if you don’t agree.  And if you decide to wear one…please know that it automatically makes you the hottest, smartest, most Matthew-McConaughey-est person within a 1 mile radius.  Period.

Comments
  1. Who you prefer, old-school Axl Rose or 2pac style?

  2. Jason says:

    I guess Axl Rose, even though his doo-rag style looks a little different than mine because of all the hair…..2pac normally wore his backwards – with the knot in the front. I’m not quite so much into the backwards doo-rag.

  3. Greg Adkins says:

    You think it’s a coincidence that doo-rag rhymes with douche-bag?

    I don’t.

  4. jeph says:

    🙂

  5. Jason says:

    Ouch.

    In a related story, I also really like douche commercials. Especially the old “Summer’s Eve” ones from several years back. (“Mom, do you ever get that unfresh feeling?”) They were hilarious to watch.

  6. Michael Cody says:

    This entry is just filthy.

  7. Kaly says:

    I was kinda diggin’ the aviators from ’94 and ’95 myself. But maybe that’s just me.

Leave a comment