Video Games

Posted: March 23, 2009 in my experiences, technology

xboxThanks to the gracious allowance of my wife, in the last 10 days I have obtained a used X-Box game system and 20 (yes, 20) games ….. all for about 50% of the price of a new PS3, Nintendo Wii, or an X-Box 360.  This is my first game system since I got rid of my original Playstation about 7 years ago.  It’s funny how easy it’s been to get addicted again.

Anyways…in honor of this new possession, I thought I’d share my favorite video games of my lifetime.  Keep in mind – this list is pulled only from the games that I’ve owned or played, so it’s certain to leave off many, many great/classic games.  I’m going to do my best to do these in order.

10. Combat – Atari
9. Breakout / Super Breakout – Atari
8. Double Dragon – Nintendo
7. Cyber Tiger – Playstation
6. Contra – Nintendo
5. Double Dribble – Nintendo
4. The Legend of Zelda – Nintendo
3. Tecmo Bowl Football – Nintendo
2. Top Spin Tennis – XBox
1. NBA Jam – Sega

Comments
  1. Rodney says:

    What? No list is complete without at least one of the Super Mario Brothers.

  2. Jason says:

    I know, I know. I struggled. It was originally at number 7 on my initial list – until I started thinking….even though I played Super Mario Bros 2 more than some of these other games, I didn’t necessarily like it as much. And really, the only one I liked was 2. I really did not like the first one, nor the 3rd one.

  3. Leeann says:

    Can’t believe Frogger is not on the list, esp since you mentioned Atari.

  4. jeph says:

    you need to make an “honorable mentions” list. 🙂

  5. Michael Cody says:

    You accidentally forgot RC Proam, Excite Bike and of course the legendary Castlevania in which Michael Bay is making a movie of.

  6. Carrie says:

    all I have to say is…
    up up down down left right select B start

  7. Carrie says:

    Oops!

    I think it was supposed to be
    Up, up, down, down, left, right, left, right, select, B, start

    I am ashamed I’ve forgotten

    What about James Bond?

  8. Michael Cody says:

    OH Yeah! The KnightRider game was great too. However, not as good as the new tv series.

  9. Derek says:

    I haven’t had a game system since Super Nintendo. I would sure love to make believe being a Navy Seal with some of these new fangled video console things. I just don’t see the wife going for it 😦

  10. Jason says:

    Yeah, so many good games….others I definitely really liked, but didn’t make the top ten … excite bike, kung fu, frogger, pong, top gun, mortal kombat, mike tyson’s punch out, pole position, tetris, kid icarus, asteroids.

  11. Super Mario Bros. 3

  12. Michael Cody says:

    KnightRider…

Leave a Reply

