Random Thoughts

Posted: April 8, 2009 in my thoughts

I watched a little bit of American Idol last night.  It’s like watching expansion team baseball.  The farther along this show gets, the worse the talent seems to be.  With winners like Ruben, Fantasia, and Taylor, how is this show still thriving at this point?  I don’t get it.

If I ever land a job that actually includes a “retention bonus”, I’ll know that I’ve made it big.

My office smells like poop right now.  I work in an office trailer behind our main building.  The septic tank is underneath my office.  Some weeks, the pump truck is a day or two late, and the tank flows over a little.  Yesterday was one of those days.

My college roomate – whom I love to death and always will – was basically a lazy bum during all of our 4 years of school.  Now he’s the squadron leader for the riot team in an Indiana state prison and volunteers as a firefighter on the side.  Goes to show, you just never know.

Saw Slumdog Millionaire two nights ago at home.  What a movie.  VERY deserving Oscar winner.

There’s a dead bird skeleton on the back patio of our townhouse.  But, since we never ever use our back patio for any reason, it’s still sitting there after about 2 weeks.  We just don’t have the stomach to do anything with it.

Speaking of townhouse….we’ve been renting our current townhouse for nearly 5 years.  Sucks being almost 33 and not owning a home yet, but you know, paying down debts, living within your means and all.  However, this $8000.00 tax credit for 1st time home buyers is very tempting right now.

This may be lost on most of you … but have you ever noticed how much Tyler Hansbrough (from North Carolina) and J.D. McCoy (from Friday Night Lights) look alike?  Especially when they both have that same, wide eyed, blank, baby faced stare on their mugs?  Weird.

Comments
  1. greg says:

    you know what else hansbrough and McCoy have in common?

    I’d really enjoy punching both of them in the face.

  2. jeph says:

    Greg is something else.

    Anywho, I only want to comment on your American Idol statement: What? There’s an immense amount of diverse talent this year with 3 or 4 contestants. Last night, one contestant (Adam) did a Tears For Fears song that may have been one of the best ever on the show ever. I think you’d enjoy watching the last 4 or 5 weeks. There’s a couple guys that are just incredible.

  3. greg says:

    Jeph?

    You like Adam? Really? Cause I’ve got a recording of cats dying I would be glad to burn on a CD for you.

    Minus a thousand man points for liking that ridiculous wailing egomaniac.

    Me, I liked Scott… his smooth style with the power ballads reminded me of a young Art Garfunkle. What could be hipper than that? Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme…

  4. Jason says:

    My VERY limited take in very limited viewing time….none of these people have their own voice, their own style. They all sound like somebody – or are trying to sound like somebody – who is already big. They’re fake. I was laughing at the one guy Tuesday night who was totally trying to look and sound just like Jason Mraz.

  5. Erin says:

    Jason only knows who Jason Mraz is because of his wife.

  6. Jason says:

    Same goes for Leeland, broccoli, and using Q-tips.

    On a similar note, Erin only knows what a clean car looks like because of her husband. =)

  7. jeph says:

    Truly original artists don’t ever make it to that show. You could argue Fantasia was one, but if you’ve ever listened to Macy Gray you’d think twice. I think it’s obvious the talent is less than original. Original doesn’t need a show like that to succeed.

    And I like Adam a lot, but he does lose man points. He wears skinny jeans. Any guy who does loses man points. Period. But he sang Tracks of My Tears and Mad World like his life depended on it and he did it his own way with different arrangements and all. And he was ridiculously good. Would I buy his album? I haven’t bought one album made by one Idol to date, so no.

    And making fun of blind guys isn’t cool, Greg. Karma is a nasty thing. Unless you actually liked him. Which again, I say, you are something else. 🙂

  8. Greg says:

    I wasn’t making fun dude! I didn’t say he looked like a blind Art Garfunkle…. I said a young Art Garfunkle and come on… who doesn’t love them some power ballads?

    Seriously though, I don’t think he was good at all and it was time for him to get voted off but I certainly wasn’t making fun of him. He seemed like a very nice guy with a great attitude about the whole thing. Seemed to be having a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

