Still More Thoughts

Posted: April 23, 2009 in my thoughts

I’ve found recently that the less tv we watch at home, the more happy I am that we’re watching less tv.  At this point, The Office and 30 Rock are the only shows I really don’t want to miss.  A couple of years ago, we were probably faithfully watching 6-7 different shows every week without fail.  It’s just too much.  Thankfully, we only have 12 channel cable ($16.00 per month), so it reduces the temptation.

I’m getting so sick of reading about kids getting killed in family murder-suicides or being left for dead in a garbage bag or being killed by their older brother.  Makes me yearn for a new heaven and a new earth.

This is sad but true.  I’ve recently struggled with an internal lack of motivation to get into exercising more and eating better.  One of the main reasons is that all my pants are size 34 and every single shirt in my closet (probably 60 shirts altogether?) are ALL size Large.  If I were to lose 15-20 lbs – which would be ideal – I would then be a size 32 pant size and would need to wear size medium shirts.  That’s intimidating to think that my entire closet could become osolete.

4 days later, I’m still crying over Marley & Me.

Next month, I’m spending 2 days in Kentucky with one of my absolute best friends from college.  I haven’t seen him in 4 years.  We’re meeting in the Lexington area, spending one night, and playing 2 rounds of golf.  Back in the day, we used to play a TON of golf together – I’m guessing we’ve played golf at least 50 times together over the course of about 6 years.  Never once did he beat me.  But I’ve not swung a golf club or hit a golf ball in 2 years.  I’m worried I may get beat, and I don’t like it.

I’m running sound for Crossings on May 3rd, on a sound board that is 10 times more complicated than any I’ve ever used before, and which I have a grand total of 2 hours of training on.  Excuse me for a moment.  I just wet myself.

Can anyone, off the top of their head, name 3 other men’s or women’s professional tennis players ranked in the top 10 in the world other than Nadal, Federer, Roddick, Williams, or Williams?  No cheating.  Be honest.  Me neither, and I thoroughly enjoy tennis.

If you’ll excuse me, I just thought about the fact that I’m running sound at Crossings again.  I’ll make sure and wear Depends that morning.

Comments
  1. bill says:

    It was more like 4 hours training. And come on man, I know there wasn’t one thing that Andy said that went over your head. Was there?

  2. Michael Cody says:

    Down to a size 32″ waist? Cool, man. I’m 31″x34″ so you may catch up with me! As for the exercise thing, I totally heart my P90X routine I have been doing. I got 4 other guys doing it as well and two girls; you should check it out and give it a go. You wanna be in your top form to handle the KnightRider reboot!

  3. mark nelson says:

    Djokvic, Murray, Sharapova, Jankovic…

    And did you mean Ricky or Serena?

  4. Jason says:

    Okay, okay, I meant can any “average” person name 3 others. When you come back from knee surgery and hit money shots in your first time back at basketball, you don’t qualify as average. Maybe Kevin Garnett could learn something from your courage.

Leave a Reply

