first ever suprise party

Posted: April 30, 2009 in friends, humor

You expect a surprise birthday party when your 40, maybe 50.  That’s why getting a surprise birthday party at 33 is that much more suprising….because it’s such a boring age!  I was truly honored and thrilled to be welcomed by many of my closest friends last Friday night for such a party.  Erin worked so hard for many weeks to get this ready, going to great lengths to secretly get me out of a work trip, since I was actually supposed to be out of town last weekend.   Scott & Leigh were great hosts, and I’m so thankful to those who came.

It was a blast.  “The Office” was the overall theme of the party…there were Dunder Mifflin memos posted on the wall, dozens of hilarious quotes from show all over the house, The Office board game (which, without going into too much detail, basically evolved into a group game of “that’s what she said” jokes….i laughed so hard my whole body was hurting), and more.  We also had some great Mexican food and drinks!

I drank two very large pina coladas in a short time frame, which made me more sick than inebriated – which really blew, because inebriated was the goal.  But I guess that’s what happens when you drink more in one hour that you have in the last 6 months.  I also swatted a pinata from a tree for the first time in my life.  Very fun.  No “funniest home video” getting-racked-in-the-nads moment though.  Still fun.

birthday-party

Comments
  1. Greg says:

    sorry we couldn’t make it dude…. I was going to come dressed as Phyllis.

  2. bill says:

    You know Jason…less girly drinks = less sugar & milk = less stomach & more inebriation. Its a simple equation. And there was Miller Light in the fridge.

    Secondly, outside of my wife’s unbelievable ‘That’s what she said…’ ability…the most disturbing part of the night was watching you eat a cake version of your own crazy eye. That’s just weird.

    Betsy and I had a blast, I’m so glad we got to come. Erin did an incredible job planning it.

  3. Michael Cody says:

    Miller? Sheeew…. filthy. Thanks for the lack of support, Chief.

  4. betsy says:

    5 mixes coming your way tomorrow. that’s about 80 songs. enjoy!

Leave a Reply

