thinking out loud

Posted: May 4, 2009 in my thoughts, observations / opinions

Watched the first half of Bill Maher’s Religulous documentary last week.  It was so obvious what the gist of the documentary was that I didn’t have the motivation to watch the 2nd half.  Here’s the plot:  Maher has candid talks about his religious doubts with people who don’t know how to articulate their faith without sounding dumb or getting angry.  Maher laughs and they look like fools.  Maher moves on to the next person.  The end.

Eli had his annual physical / immunization check up last week.  He got 2 shots in one leg, 2 shots in the other leg, and had blood drawn from his finger.  Poor little guy walked with a limp for 4 days.  These types of things should be bold printed in the introduction of books like “Things to Expect When You’re Expecting.”

As part of a response to a previous post I did about wanting to hear some new music, Bill & Betsy made me 5 mix cd’s with like 80 songs for my birthday.  I’ve only made it through one so far, but I absolutely love it and can’t wait to hear the next four.

I think the name United States has evolved into a serious oxymoron.

The very first cassette tapes I ever owned (back in 1986) were Run DMC’s “Raisin Hell” and The Beastie Boys “License to Ill”.  No joke – in 5th grade, my friend Joseph and I used to go to other 5th and 6th grade classrooms in my elementary school and perform “You Be Illin” by Run DMC.  Our teacher actually set this up for us.

On the non-hit TV show Wipeout, has ANYONE ever made it across the gigantic bouncing balls without falling into the water?  Seriously, why do people even try?  Just leap into the water and start swimming.  It will be faster.

Comments
  1. Michael Cody says:

    Other than on girls, aren’t turtle-necks stupid?

  2. jeph says:

    you do rap well. sickeningly well.

    hey, read mark’s latest post. i smell a new crossings t-shirt coming.

    “crossings: sometimes, sort of a church”

  3. Greg says:

    That’s funny dude… that Beastie boys tape was one of my first cassettes too…. I wore that thing out.

    I sat through all of Religulous… you got the plot down but as it goes on Maher becomes more and more of an ass.

    I am okay with someone doubting but he obviously had a lot bigger agenda in that movie than that… he puts himself out there as a seeker but that’s disingenuous… he’s really just on a smear campaign against Christians first, all other religions second. I find him sad.

  4. Michael Cody says:

    I mean, yeah, I used to wear them every now and then, but I just don’t personally dig them on me and I think guys just look silly wearing them..

  5. Jason says:

    Yeah, I do rap sickeningly well
    And I do rap when I’m sprinkling gel
    In my hair to make it stick up
    Waking up in a scare and gettin hiccups
    Must had a bad dream about kung fu dudes
    Save me Michael, show me some one-two moves
    Round house kickin ain’t the way I groove
    Grab your neck like Spock and make you meet your doom

Leave a Reply

