it’s just me

Posted: May 12, 2009 in humor, my thoughts, sports, work

For the last 11 years, I’ve been convinced that no one could ever be as good as Michael Jordan.  Kobe, to me, simply does not compare.  Michael was much more explosive off the dribble and more ruthless than Kobe.  Not DWade.  He needs to be a couple of inches taller to be able to do more damage, post guys up, etc.  Never Vince Carter.  Total softy.  But now, for the first time, I’m starting to wonder.  I don’t get to watch a lot of the NBA, but everytime I’ve seen Lebron James this year – especially thus far in the playoffs – it’s been nothing short of amazing.  He could end up being the best ever.

Top – Friday face.  Bottom – Monday face.

Picture3

(Preface – I love teachers.  Teachers are awesome.)

I should have been a teacher.  I can’t think of any other job in America where you get roughly 10 – 12 weeks of vacation per year, plus sick leave days.  According to the handbook, I think I can work my way up to 4 weeks of vacation once I’m at my current job for like 22 years.

The most damning sign that I’m getting old – I now really like using Old Spice after I shave.  Stuff smells awesome.

One nice thing about owning a bottom-of-the-line Hyundai Accent.  You never have to worry about locking the doors.  I mean, seriously, who wants to steal a Hyundai Accent?

Comments
  1. jeph says:

    Lebron “could” end up as the best…they said that about Kobe (who still isn’t out of the running yet…got another 6-8 solid years left). Lebron will not age as well. He’s huge. Big and heavy. He’s like a good mix of Jordan and Karl Malone physically. But we’ll see if that leaves him sitting healthy at 33. My guess is that he’ll get significantly slower.

    You also have to remember that Phil Jackson once said, “if Jordan wanted to score 100 every night, no one could stop him. But he wants to win more than score, so that’s what holds him back.” I think we could’ve seen an incredible amount more from Jordan if he didn’t have to play the offense he had to play. It was very conservative. If Jordan played today, in the offensive minded game we have now, we’d see 50 points a night. Scary.

  2. Jason says:

    Can’t disagree on the aging thing. Just like Garnett. To me, Kobe would have to do a lot over the next 6 years. Even if he ends up with more points in his career, he’s just not as good to me. Not as explosive to the basket. Has never shot 50% from the field in a season – Jordan did it regularly. Not as good of a shut down defender as MJ became.

    Here’s the thing about Lebron. If he only plays until 30, he’ll still have played roughly the same amount of time as MJ. And he could legitimately win 3-4 championships between now and then.

    But, yes, I also agree that if Jordan was in his prime right now, he would still probably stand out as the best player in the league.

  3. Shelley says:

    Sorry I haven’t had time to log in and comment for a while. I enjoyed your faces. I think the hard thing about being a teacher would be coming to work on institute days, especially the really sunny ones. Oh that and getting to work before the sun comes up over the winter.

    Also, I did read the list of your favorite things a while back. Every once and a while its great to revisit them, and see if you have changed.

    Old Spice will always smell good. I don’t think it means you are getting old, I think it means you don’t care what others think and just do things because you like it.

    Oh and a late happy birthday. 🙂

  4. Michael says:

    Then again, who knows, if it gets cold enough, you may just actually catch me wearing a turtleneck. *shrug* Anyway, hey, you wanna come by and play Double Dribble on the NES tonight? I think afterwards we’re playing BattleToads.

  5. Carrie says:

    (Preface…I love t-shirt makers)

    Ummm…after putting up with other people’s children for 180 days, you would want time off too. And, you don’t get paid for your time off – money is taken out of each paycheck every month so that I will get paid in the summer months. I could give you a long list of why teaching is a hard job, but do I really need to getup on that soap box? Let’s just say that teaching is great…when you actually get to teach. However, for all the stress and long hours I’ve put in…in just 4 1/2 more days, I will be headed to the pool while you are headed to your job. 🙂

Leave a Reply

