Michael Jackson – Part 1 – Songs

Posted: June 26, 2009 in music, observations / opinions

mjhistory1995I can’t possibly put all my Michael Jackson thoughts into one post.  I could, but you’d probably get tired of reading.  So I’m breaking it up into parts.

Part 1 – my favorite songs.  I couldn’t figure out how to narrow it down to 10, so I conceded to 15.  So, here are my 15 favorite Michael Jackson songs, in order from 15 to 1.  Feel free to critique.

15. Off the Wall (Off the Wall) – amazing bass line!

14. Wanna Be Startin Somethin (Thriller) – what a fun song … to this day, I still don’t  know why he says, “you’re a vegetable” about 4 times.

13. Is it Scary (Blood on the Dance Floor) – a very intense song, basically asking whether or not you get scared when you look at him.  Probably his least popular selling album, so you may not have heard this one.

12. Get on the Floor (Off the Wall) – another amazing bass line.  This might be the easiest upbeat song every written to sway back and forth to if you’re not a great dancer.  Not that I’m not a good dancer.  I am really.  Club style dancing though, not line or waltz or swing.  And there’s a great part toward the end of the song where he’s basically grunting, “shic a bope a ba, schic a bope a ba”.  It’s so cool.

11. Stranger In Moscow (History, Disc 2) – you’re going to see a few songs from this disc on my list, please tell me you’ve listened to them before!  A slow, almost creepy sounding song about his experience of being in Moscow.

10. Remember the Time (Dangerous) – known by many because it was a theme song/video to the Eddie Murphy movie, “Coming to America”.  Another song with great grunting sounds.

9. Break of Dawn (Invincible) – chorus line – “and we’ve got to make sweet love until the break of dawn”.  Come on, how can you not love that?  Great song off his final album.  Very smooth beat and great vocals on this one.

8. The Girl is Mine (Thriller) – awesome song featuring Paul McCartney.  How many times have you heard the line “I’m a lover, not a fighter” used?  This song is why.  Nuff said.

7. You Rock My World (Invincible) – his last hit single.  Really catchy chorus.

6. Keep the Faith (Dangerous) – a very gospel choir type of song.  Inspirational, as the title would suggest, with a GREAT build toward the end of the song.

5. Billie Jean (Thriller) – considered one of the greatest songs ever written, and the video is infamous.  Great story line, easy to sing, and anyone who hears the amazing bass line at the beginning immediately knows what song it is.

4. Don’t Stop Til You Get Enough (Off the Wall) – I totally love the quiet dialogue that builds into a very tense but hushed scream to start the song.  Grew to love this song more when I heard a bonus track of Michael and his brothers/sisters playing pots, pans, and random percussion instruments in a living room to lay down the original demo for this song.  It’s crazy good.

3. Scream (History, Disc 2) – incredible song, GREAT video.  If you’ll remember, this was a duet of sorts with sister Janet.  Again, the intensity is what I love about it.

2. Earth Song (History, Disc 2) – unfortunately, not many people are familiar with this song, but it’s an amazing, nearly 7 minute long song where he cries out about how we’re mistreating the earth.

1. Man in the Mirror (Bad) – I have every grunt and scream memorized on this one, along with the words.  Ask me.  I’ll perform it for you on the spot.  I’ll tell more stories about this one next week.

Comments
  1. Michael Cody says:

    I have a bootleg CD my friend got from a bootleg DVD and CD store while serving overseas and it has 31 unreleased material. Some of it is hit and miss and other parts are simply incredible. Michael, I do not ever imagine being forgotten. Today I came into work wearing all black to show my mourning and I am even carrying around a 1984 Michael Jackson Awards Outfit doll that my mom got me as a kid and didn’t give me until I turned 18. http://mjjshop.com/shop/images/mjamadoll.jpg

  2. bill says:

    Man in the Mirror #1…I couldn’t agree more. My list would differ certainly (I’ve never listen to Invincible), but I am also a big fan of HIStory. One of my favorites of all time. Ask Betsy, I sing “Childhood” all the time around the house…still to this day.

  3. Michael Cody says:

    I always envisioned either performing or having The Way You Make Me Feel played at my wedding.

  4. Just wanted to say I just ordered this Thriller Album, to bring back Michael in our memories. I grew up with MJ. He is the Best! We will certainly miss you.

  5. Jason says:

    Michael – awesome doll. And a few years ago I performed “The Way You Make Me Feel” at Big Mama’s Karaoke Cafe in Seymour. =)

    Bill – You must listen to Invincible. It really is a good album. And everyone’s list would differ for sure…..for example, “Childhood” would be way way down toward the bottom of my list, along with “Jam”…nothing like a little Shaquille O’Neal to ruin a song.

  6. Michael Cody says:

    That wasn’t Shaq on Jam. It was Heavy D. Shaq was on Too Bad from the HiSTORY album.

  7. Jason says:

    Absolutely correct you are. I should know these things. I guess it’s confusing since they sound very much alike in those raps.

  8. jeph says:

    where would you put smooth criminal?

  9. Big fan says:

    I regret the loss of the King of Pop Michael Jackson! Jacko is a legend. Such humans unfortunately only every 100 years is born. I hope he gets where he is now, finally in peace.
    Leave also your last greeting at Michael Jackson on our site, thanks.
    from germany… a big and now sad fan

  10. Jason says:

    Smooth Criminal falls somewhere in the 20th – 25th range I think…..like the lyrics, never was a huge fan of the real fast, sort of jerky beat of the song.

  11. Jonna Pulkkinen says:

    Besides the ones you already mentioned, I LOVE Human Nature, P.Y.T., Another Part of Me, Beat It, They Don’t Care About Us, Dirty Diana, We Are The World (demo), Blame It On The Boogie (The Jacksons), The Way You Make Me Feel and of course Thriller. I love all the videos captured during his BAD tour.

  12. Things very open and also clear explanation of issues. was truly information. Your website is very helpful. Thank you sharing.

Leave a Reply

