Ground Rules

Posted: September 21, 2009 in blogosphere, my thoughts, observations / opinions

At least for now, I want to continue blogging.  But for the sake of purpose and clarity, I’ve tried to think through some ground rules, a sort of blog-filter if you will.  The blogs that have lasted are the blogs that matter and have a point.  The days of everyone starting a blog and posting nothing but personal updates and you tube videos are over.  Partly because we get tired of that.  Partly because Facebook offers a much better way to communicate personal-life details.  I’m even getting a weird feeling that Twitter is going to die out soon.  Anyone who has enough time on their hands each day to keep a consistent Twitter feed going needs to re-evaluate what exactly they are doing with their time each day.  And those are are Twittering consistently are simply going to get tired of it.

So a blog needs to be thoughtful, meaningful, and provide an actual reason for a reader to return.  I know most of you that read, and you can simply become friends with Erin on Facebook to find out that Eli had a good day at kindergarten, we went on a camping trip, or that work has been rough.  So for you to stay interested, and to attract possible new readers (which I admit I want to do), there has to be more.

With that in mind, here are a few ground rules I’m going to establish.  They’re not necessarily hard and fast (and if you just said “that’s what she said” to yourself, shame on you), and I may occasionally allow myself a guilty humorous pleasure or two, but they’re ground rules nonetheless.

1. If I can create a post in two minutes or less, it’s not a post, and never deserves to be a post.

2. Blog posts shall be well thought out, and written to the best of my ability.

3. I will try to focus my content on issues, opinions, challenges, questions, admissions, hypothesis, and general diatribes that are important to my faith, worldviews, and overall life experience.

4. Because of ground rule #3, anonymous comments are both welcomed and encouraged if the commenter feels it necessary.  This gives you the freedom to question my views, give truly honest feedback, or simply bash me.

5. There shall be no established guideline to the frequency of posts.  It’s easy to post frequently if such posts are not well thought out (see ground rule #2).  That shall not be the case here.  Posting frequency shall coincide only with the time and ability I have to post thoughtfully and effectively.  Therefore, any comment asking where I am or did I disappear shall be ignored.

6. Reader comments are not only welcomed and encouraged, but shall serve as a litmus to the quality of the posts, and the overall health of the blog.  An equation might look like this:  Comments = good post & healthy blog …(or)… No comments = crappy post & dying blog.

7. The total number of “views” on this blog shall no longer mean anything (much like a pitcher’s winning record when his ERA is actually 5.23).  It is apparent that most of my 27,000 views to date have come from people who have Googled the following search terms:  “Hillary Clinton’s cankles”, “Toyota Corolla”, “Michael Jackson History”, “BVD underwear”, and “Best Worship Music.”  None of these Google searchers have either read or contributed to the blog in any way.  They are dead to me.

I hereby announce that the official Ground Rules are established.

Comments
  1. jeph says:

    Good for you.

    Now, what were thoughts on the Florida-Tennessee game? And what movies did you watch recently and what were the ratings for them?

  2. Michael Cody says:

    Twitter can’t die yet… Bill joined recently and that’s the first time he has joined something without it being kind of ancient.

  3. Jason says:

    Game – moral victory. There is such a thing. When I was in college, I could dunk a mini-basketball. Not too long ago, I was able to actually touch the rim. Moral victory.

    Movies – only movie I’ve seen in the last few months I could truly recommend are Inglorious Basterds & Man on Wire. The following were decent, not great: Adventureland, The Lucky Ones, and Flash of Genius.

    Twitter will die, sooner than later. In fact, it will die out so suddenly and completely, it will spawn a new phrase that people will use for year to come…”twit you later.”

  4. bil says:

    Hold on. First off, why did Michael Cody just bash me on someone else’s blog? Secondly, okay, so he’s kind of right. But actually, guidelines #1 & #2 are the reasons I got on Twitter. I can tweet from my phone in under 60 seconds, instead of having to carve out time in my day to flesh my thoughts out “to the best of my ability”. Does that mean that my tweets suck? Maybe, but who cares. I’ve got like 3 people who read them. In actuality, its probably nothing more than a nice addition to my sidebar.

  5. Michael Cody says:

    Wow. I just typed ‘Bill’ but Bill went even further and typed out ‘Michael Cody’. Yeah… thanks for writing a blog again, Jason. Apparently it’s going well for all of us.

  6. Jason says:

    I’m glad it’s going well. Just wait until I post my thoughts on the Japanese martial arts culture. Then all hell will break loose.

  7. Michael Cody says:

    That’s funnier than you think. The Japanese think its hilarious foreigners want to learn martial arts. They don’t get it. To them, it is the same thing as if asians were coming to the US and were infatuated with learning all of the skills, history, and language of how to be a Wild West CowBoy.

    Movie update. I watched some oldies recently. Three Musketeers, (gooooosh I love that Bryan Adams, Sting, Rod Stewart song All For One), Kevin Costner’s Robin Hood, Explorers with a young Ethan Hawke building a spaceship out of a fair T-Cup ride, Mac & Me, a cheesey ET knock-off, and Flight of the Navigator. Strong set there. You’re welcome.

    I heard Bill Wolf was catching up on episodes of Swan’s Crossing.

  8. Erin Edelen says:

    Poor Bill…

  9. bill says:

    I do not know what Swan’s Crossing is.

Leave a Reply

