Good Bye Soda

Posted: December 4, 2009 in food

For about as long as I can remember, I’ve been an active consumer of Coke, Mountain Dew, Mellow Yellow, Sunkist, Dr Pepper, etc … the entire family of high fructose corn syrupy goodness that is the American soft drink.  In high school, when I went to church camp, I couldn’t wait for canteen time to roll around, so I could buy a Kit Kat bar and a Mountain Dew.  In college, when I would drive to a ministry on the weekends, I would stop at the local Super America gas station in Grayson, KY and purchase a 20oz Mountain Dew and a honey bun for the road.  For the last couple of years, Coke has been more my drink of choice.  From the can.  From the bottle.  From the fountain.  I love it all.

In the past 19 days, however, I’ve consumed 1 (one) 12oz can of Sprite.  And that was 14 days ago.  Other than that, it’s been UNsweet tea, water, water with Crystal Light lemonade packets added to it, orange juice, grape juice, and milk.  I’ve consumed 2 diet-orange soda drinks.  They were okay, but I didn’t care for them much.

By my estimates, over the last few years, I’ve consumed an average of 2000 – 3000 calories a week from soft drinks or sweet tea.  Roughly a pound worth of calories each week.  Tasty, delicious, craved calories, yes.  But, nutritionally speaking, empty calories.  Calories that do nothing for me but pep me up for a bit, then bring me down, and leave me craving more.

My attempts to cut out soft drinks in the past have been futile.  Partly because I’ve been addicted to them for so long.  And partly because I’ve not had a worthy “substitute” drink to satisfy me.  I’ve always HATED diet soft drinks, and I just don’t enjoy drinking water that much.

This time around, I’ve turned most of my attention to unsweet tea.  It takes a little getting used to.  I’m sure it’s a lot like drinking coffee or beer in that regard (I assume, since I don’t drink coffee or beer).  But I’m getting more used to it, and the presence of caffeine certainly helps.  The orange juice and grape juice have calories, yes.  I’m drinking them in moderation, only at home, mainly for the extra Vitamin C during the cold season.

I’m pretty sure this is my longest non-sugar-soda stretch in many years.  At this point, I’m feeling much better about my chances of long term change.  Ultimately, I would love to simply eliminate carbonated drinks all together, diet or non diet.  I’m doing it partly because of the calories, partly because it will save me money, and partly because of the challenge, just the idea that this is something I should be able to exercise some control over.

Wish me luck.

Comments
  1. Katie says:

    Good Luck! I’m an addict too.

  2. bill says:

    Good Luck (from another addict…of the diet persuasion).

  3. michael says:

    I used to be a Jolt cola fanatic. My favorite drink of all time, which was taken off markets my junior year of highschool, was Josta. The only Pepsi product I could ever tolerate. Kind of takes me back to when OK Soda was big during my junior high years. We used to collect the pop-art cans because they looked retro and cool, like something from art class. Which takes me even further back to when all we could afford was RC Cola. So yeah, something to look back on and think about. Or drink, or whatever. See you Sunday. Keep your nose clean.

  4. Jason says:

    Thanks guys – now 21 days and counting. It’s getting easier.

    Michael – I LOVED RC back in middle and high school. I can remember I used to buy 16oz bottles of RC at the gas station after school for like 59 cents I think. Has a different little kick to it. Yum.

  5. Jason says:

    oops – I actually meant it’s now 23 days (not 21) and counting!

  6. Leeann says:

    Good luck. Hope you do better than I have on my many attempts to quit. It doesn’t help that you can go to McD’s and get a gallon size cup for a buck.

Leave a Reply

