Rest

Posted: January 4, 2010 in holidays, lifestyle, work

Today, I’ve returned to work after having 10 consecutive days off of work (December 25th – January 3rd).  That’s the most consecutive days off from work that I’ve experienced in about 6 years … and the last time was because I didn’t have a job.

In fact, in my 5 1/2 years at Threds, up until last week, I had never taken off a full 5-day work week for vacation.  All of my time off has been 3 day and 4 day weekends, or a random day here or there.

I’m not sure what to think about this extended rest thing.  Sure, I enjoyed most of it while it was happening.  Played a lot of Wii, spent 3 1/2 days in Kentucky with family, saw a couple of movies, ate a bunch of food.

But last night.  Oh man, last night.  The dread I felt last night at the prospect of returning to work was the worst I’d experienced since I was selling cars back in early 2004.  It’s not just work.  I like my work okay.  It was the knowledge that the month of January is going to be one of the busiest, hardest, most overwhelming months of work I’ll probably have experienced in my time at Threds.  Long story as to why – short version is that we’re taking over a pretty large merchandise account from another company, that company is going to be sending us a very LARGE amount of inventory (at least 1, maybe 2 full size 18-wheeler truck loads full), and we’ll have to unload it, count every last piece of it, enter every item into our computers, organize and inventory every bit of it, then frantically begin developing and ordering new products to build the line back up.  It’s a good long term thing for our company.  But it’s going to make January feel like hell frozen over.

And in all of this, my soul says to my mind, “Work is good.  It’s a person’s responsibility in the world to work, to earn his place, to add something, to build something, to contribute to the community and earn a living for your family.  Work is rewarding, and necessary.”

My mind responds to my soul, “That’s crap.  I have to work because Adam and Eve ate the fruit.  Lots of people have plenty of unearned money and don’t work.  Work keeps me away from home an average of 10 hours each day, when you add in the travel time to and from.  It stresses me out.  It never pays quite what you think it should.  It sucks.”

And so, at 4:28pm, I’ve taken 8 minutes to blog, even while things are piled on my desk and I’m very behind on the things I need to accomplish.  And I can’t wait for the next 22 minutes to go by.  And I’m normally not a can’t-wait-for-5:00pm-to-get-here kind of person.  I blame that feeling today on all the rest.  The glorious rest.  The addictive rest.  The God-honoring rest.

Leave a Reply

