6 Months the Wiser

Posted: June 8, 2010 in blogosphere, family, music, work

Hello blog world.  At least the 2 of you who occasionally still blog or read blogs.  Let’s get started.

As much as I enjoyed blogging, and still would like to more regularly, I know it’s like riding on a train that’s half way off the tracks.  People slowly stopped blogging about 12-18 months ago, and it’s steadily declined since then.  Quite frankly, technology moves too fast for us to keep up anymore.

On that note, I give Facebook and Twitter about 18 more months of popularity.  Many who were active Facebook-ers have now become casual Face “look” ers instead.  How many people can possibly afford the time and attention to these things at the frantic pace in which our lives project?  Now, if you could simply “speak” into your phone and update them that way, that could change things.  But now, typing things out is simply too much effort.  Anybody remember having actual pen pals?

Neil Young was in concert in Knoxville recently.  It was somewhere around one mortgage payment per ticket.  I could not tell you the name of one Neil Young song.  But as I read the local papers regarding the concert – both before and after – I decided to give him a try.  Went to McKay’s, found two scratched cd’s for about $3.00 each, and so far am REALLY enjoying the first one.  Don’t even know the title of the album.  Hoping the second one is just as good.

I recently downloaded Scrabble on my phone.  In terms of the attention I give my family, my spiritual growth, and the time it takes me to use the boys room, it’s turning out to be one of the worst decisions I’ve ever made.

In the last 6 months, Eli turned 6 years old, graduated Kindergarten, his hair is growing back out, he’s now learning to swim, he’s winning trophies on Mario Kart Wii, and he says things that are way smarter than I give him credit for.  I turned 34 years old, am also growing my hair back out, have noticed a much more visible bald spot on my crown, have already burned out on Mario Kart Wii, and am really no smarter than I was about 12 years ago.

I’m still a huge Tiger Woods fan.

In late April, I spent about 4 hours in Las Vegas with my friend Robert.  He came to Arizona with me on a Threds event trip.  In 6 days we worked about 85 hours.  But on our only short work day, we finished at the event, changed clothes, drove 2.5 hours to Vegas, spent 4 hours there, and drove 2.5 hours back.  Neither of us had ever been, so it was totally worth it.  I just can’t tell you anything about it.  Sorry, it’s the rules.

I love my wife.  She makes great meatloaf, gives generous back rubs (only to me, don’t be asking), folds the laundry with more patience than I could muster in a year, loves Friday Night Lights almost as much as I do, gives so much of herself to Crossings and her small group, watches with a smile while Eli and I act-a-fool on the kids rides at Dollywood, and looks so totally cute when she wears this certain colorful headband she got recently.

This may be it for another 6 months.  Who knows.  Be good.

Comments
  1. Erin Edelen says:

    Thanks Babe, I love you too! =)

  2. Michael Cody says:

    awwwwww!!!

  3. Greg says:

    I’m still here. Isn’t it odd how blogs basically all died at the same time? Maybe someday there will be a study done but seriously, other than the “professional bloggers” (people who have blogs so popular they sell advertising) every blog I read has all but disappeared. Mine did too. I didn’t have time for Facebook and blogging and honestly, facebook is easier… faster… I don’t have to worry about saying anything substantial or well-written because no one bothers with those sorts of things. This isn’t a good thing.

    I heard on Tiger Woods 2011 for Wii that every time you hit a bad shot Elin runs out from the gallery and hits you in the head with a five iron. Any truth to that?

  4. Carrie says:

    Still here…good to see you back on again. I’ve attempted to start again…we shall see how long this round lasts.

  5. Carol says:

    I blog myself professionally when time permits and inspiration hits. I blog for a client because I get paid to. Ditto on Tweets. I view Facebook as a ministry of sorts, strangely enough; not what I anticipated when I signed up for it.

    I’m a big iPhone Scrabble fan. Invite me to a game. My record is pretty darn good. I regularly get the toothy grin from the Teacher. The positive affirmation makes me feel smart. haha!

    I love the Neil Young Harvest Moon album (think that’s the name). Reminds me of an old college boyfriend and a time when I was younger. Hearing it now makes me feel grateful… and smarter. (theme here)

    Can’t believe Eli is 6! For some reason, I expect my own child to get older but not other children. Why is that?

    Your wife is the bomb, man! I’m glad you recognize that.

Leave a Reply

